top of page

38 Kiwi Swimmers Named For The 2023 Tri-Series To Take On Aussie States

Announcement of the NZ Squads for the 2023 Tri-Series

We are delighted to announce the 38 swimmers selected to the 2023 New Zealand Tri-Series Squad. The competition will be held in Hawke's Bay, from 24 – 29 September.

The recent (2021 - 2022) SNZ Tri Series initiative was developed to continue to provide quality racing opportunities for our junior swimmers during the Covid-19 pandemic and the addition of Western Australia and Victoria for 2023 ensures that we can continue to increase the intensity and competitiveness of racing for our junior swimmers.

The development of our pathway athletes is paramount to becoming more competitive on the international scene. The Tri-Series format takes on a similar style to the International Swimming League (ISL) with team-based matches and fast, short-course racing which promotes the application of fundamental skills. Points are awarded for race placing, key race skills and bonus achievements.

Set across six days, the event will provide exposure to high-performance environments and team activities, coach development through international coach discussions and collaboration as we challenge the athletes and coaches to improve and contribute to our strategic goal of becoming a Top 16 swimming nation by 2028.

SNZ's National Development Leader, Alastair Johnson, is excited about the team selected.

"Congratulations to all the selected athletes and their coaches for this year’s exciting Tri Series Meet to be held in Hawke's Bay. I am looking forward to seeing the athletes step up and racing fast against the teams from Western Australia and Victoria State. For many of our athletes, it will be their first experience of international racing, and will be an important milestone on their swimming journey."

2023 New Zealand Tri-Series Squad

Congratulations to the below Olympic pathway swimmers who have made the New Zealand Tri-Series Squad. Paralympic pathway swimmers will be notified and celebrated in due course.

Hanna Abdou


Eva Allan


Brooke Anderson


Danielle Asiata

Howick Pakuranga

Amelia Bray

TBSS Central City

Alexandra Campion


Hope Chmiel


Sophie Hay

Hamilton Aquatics

Hannah King


Millie Long


Jasmine Lyles

Phoenix Aquatics

Anna McGowan

TBSS Central City

Charlotte Murphy


Charlotte Parmenter


Amber Proudfoot