top of page

Down Under Daily - Gasson Through To The Final

2022 FINA World Short Course - Day Three


In front of a packed stadium that was rocking, Helena Gasson has qualified for her first individual final at the international level in the 100m Individual Medley. After executing the turns and underwater skills to a high level to win her heat on route to qualifying 3rd fastest for the semi-finals (58.92), Gasson backed it up with a strong start to finish 4th in the semi-final (59.15) to finish 8th and progress through to the finals tomorrow night. Congratulations Helena and good luck for the final.


Helena Gasson also led off the Women’s 4 x 50m Freestyle Relay, with the team smashing the previous NZ Record by 7 seconds to qualify 8th fastest for the final (1:38.45). The relay order remained the same for final as the team improved upon the heats to finish 8th overall and break the NZ Record again (1:37.93). A strong opening leg from Helena Gasson (24.82 split) was followed by Rebecca Moynihan (24.13 split) and Emma Godwin (24.40 split) with Erika Fairweather (24.58 split) bringing the team home for the NZ Record. Congratulations girls on the race which was held in front of the electric crowd.



Kiwis Continuing On


The New Zealand team continued on from their strong start over the first two days with 3 personal bests and 2 New Zealand Records, as the team continued their strong showings in the relays. The men produced a super consistent performance in the 4 x 50m Freestyle Relay to finish as the 2nd reserve for the final in 10th overall. Cam Gray knocked out a strong first leg (21.71), with Carter Swift (21.47), Zac Dell (21.57) and George Williams (21.84) playing their roles well.


Cam Gray produced a personal best in the 50m Backstroke (23.49) to finish as the 2nd reserve for the semi-finals in 18th overall. Emma Godwin produced a swim nearly equalling her best as she placed 28th in the 50m Backstroke (27.37).


Louis Clark was solid in his international debut in the 400m Freestyle, stopping the clock just outside his personal best to finish 20th (3:46.19). Unfortunately, Esme Paterson was disqualified her in 200m Butterfly, but had touched the wall in a time under her entry time.


Other NZ-Based Swims


Kokoro Frost (Samoa) swam the 50m Backstroke and placed 37th overall (26.18).


Kirsten Fisher-Marsters (Cook Islands) swam the 100m Individual Medley to place 26th overall (1:07.40).


Day Four Preview


The day gets underway with the Mixed 4 x 50m Freestyle Relay. Josh Gilbert will be looking to add to his impressive swim in the 100m event as he increased the distance to the 200m Breaststroke. Rebecca Moynihan takes on the 50m Freestyle and will be looking to showcase her great relay legs in her individual race, as will Cam Gray. The boys will be out in force for the 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay. Caitlin Deans is seeded in the fastest timed final in the 1500m Freestyle so will race in the finals session.

Day Four Schedule

  • Mixed - 4x50m Freestyle Relay - 11.05am AEDT (1.05pm NZDT)

  • Josh Gilbert - 200m Breaststroke - 11.50am AEDT (1.50pm NZDT)

  • Rebecca Moynihan - 50m Freestyle - 12.08pm AEDT (2.02pm NZDT)

  • Cam Gray - 50m Freestyle - 12.28pm AEDT (2.28pm NZDT)

  • Men’s - 4x200m Freestyle Relay - 12.36pm AEDT (2.36pm NZDT)

  • Caitlin Deans - 1500m Freestyle - 9.16pm AEDT (11.16pm NZDT)





Day Three Results Summary

  • Emma Godwin - 50m Backstroke - 27.37 - 28th

  • Cam Gray - 50m Backstroke - 23.49 - 18th

  • Esme Paterson - 200m Butterfly - DQ

  • Louis Clark - 400m Freestyle - 3:46.19 - 20th

  • Men’s - 4x50m Freestyle Relay - 1:26.59 - Cam Gray (21.71) Carter Swift (21.47) Zac Dell (21.57) George Williams (21.84) - 10th

  • Helena Gasson - 100m Individual Medley (Semi Final) - 59.15 - 8th

  • Women’s - 4x50m Freestyle Relay (Final) - 1:37.93 - Helena Gasson (24.82) Rebecca Moynihan (24.13) Emma Godwin (24.40) Erika Fairweather (24.58) (NZ Record)







193 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page