top of page

Kiwis Named to Take on Victoria & Western Australia

Teams Announcement for New Zealand for the Upcoming 2023 Tri Series

We are stoked to announce the two New Zealand teams that will compete against state teams from Western Australia and Victoria for the 2023 Tri Series. The meet will take place over three days of match racing from 27 - 29 September at the Hawke's Bay Regional Aquatic Centre. The teams will also arrive a few days early for a preparation camp during the first week of the Term 3 school holidays.

This is the third year in a row that the Tri Series meet has been back on the calendar and it is the first time since its return that we have teams from across the ditch taking part. The meet has been designed to provide an exciting opportunity for swimmers and coaches to develop their skills against international competition.

The meet is a major part of the development programme for swimmers and coaches, whilst also provides a meet that is fun, encourages development of skills and promotes seizing opportunities to perform against other quality athletes.

Whilst at Tri Series, athletes will get opportunities to become better team players through various challenges that encourage building their communication skills, strength and determination.

We are excited to see Tri Series be an integrated meet, with both Para swimmers and able-body swimmers on the same team.

Head Coach of the New Zealand White Team, Emma Mortiboy (Ice Breaker Aquatics) is looking forward to the meet and the opportunities it provides for swimmers and coaches to develop.

"This Tri Series is a great opportunity to build on short course performances, to have exposure to teams from Australia and match races against them. This meet is pivotal to assisting our swimmers to race faster as we head toward the Queensland Champs in December."

Congratulations to the swimmers and coaches selected for the two New Zealand teams below.

New Zealand Black Team

  • Hanna Abdou (Wharenui)

  • Eva Allan (United)

  • Danielle Asiata (Howick Pakuranga)

  • Amelia Bray (TBSS Central City)

  • Hope Chmiel (Vikings)

  • Olivia Emmett (Hamilton Aquatics)

  • Jasmine Lyles (Phoenix Aquatics)

  • Neve Tassicker (Nga Tai Tuatea a Taraika)

  • Hugo Batchelor (United)

  • Caleb Carlisle (Napier Aquahawks)

  • Jasper Cornish (Coast)

  • Larn Hamblyn-Ough (Coast)

  • Jackson Kennard (United)

  • Joseph Koroiadi (Murihiku)

  • Ryan Peck (United)

  • Hugo Wrathall (Jasi)

  • Charlotte Murphy (Aquagym)

  • Mckenzie Drage (Aquagym)

  • Brooke Anderson (Orca)

  • Mat Woofe (Head Coach - Hamilton Aquatics)

  • Sandra Burrow (Team Coach - TBSS Central City)

  • Hannah Cartman (Team Manager)

New Zealand White Team

  • Alexandra Campion (United)

  • Sophie Hay (Hamilton Aquatics)

  • Hannah King (Aquagym)

  • Anna McGowan (TBSS Central City)

  • Pippa Mihaka (Hamilton Aquatics)

  • Charlotte Parmenter (Jasi)

  • Bridie Quayle (Wharenui)

  • Olivia Sweetman (Howick Pakuranga)

  • Leo Arrowsmith (United)

  • Angus Blair (Comet)

  • Alex Dunkley (Roskill)

  • Luke Gibson (United)

  • Mitchell Heberley (SwimZone Racing)

  • Hunter Lloyd (Raumati)

  • Ollie Lutton (Jasi)

  • David Zhu (Porirua City Aquatics)

  • Rawiri Tristram-Brown (Dannevirke)

  • Millie Long (Selwyn)

  • Amber Proudfoot (Aquagym)

  • Emma Mortiboy (Head Coach - Icebreaker Aquatics)

  • Ryan Lockwood (Team Coach - Phoenix Aquatics)

  • Amanda White (Team Manager)

Stay tuned to our social media channels and website to stay up-to-date with the Tri Series meet.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page