top of page

Down Under Daily - Fairweather Does It Again

2022 FINA World Short Course - Day Two


Day 2 was another great day for swimming in New Zealand with 5 personal bests, 3 NZ Records and another medal to see New Zealand sitting 7th on the medal table after Day 2. Whilst another 2 World Records were broken in relays, Erika Fairweather went about continuing on from her outstanding first day in at the 16th FINA World Swimming Championships (25m). Fairweather established an early advantage as the second fastest swimmer in the 800m Freestyle fastest timed final behind Australian Lani Pallister. Fairweather turned at the halfway point in second place (4:03.22 split), and Japanese swimmer Miyu Namba tried to make a late charge for the silver medal, but Fairweather held firm with great consistency across the race (8:10.41) to break the 18 NZ Age Group Record and win her second silver medal of the championships.


It wasn’t just the 800m Freestyle where Erika Fairweather shone brightly though, as she led off the 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay and got the team off to flyer to lead at the first change (1:54.24) and in the process break Lauren Boyle’s NZ Record in the 200m Freestyle. Caitlin Deans produced a strong heat swim (1:57.54 split) before Summer Osborne (1:59.08 split) nailed the 2nd changeover before Ruby Heath (1:59.37 split) brought the team home in to break the NZ Record (7:50.73) in 8th place to qualify for the final. The team backed up their heats performance strongly in the final to post very similar splits to claim 8th place overall (7:50.76), a super showing of consistency from the team as they were part of history with the Australian team breaking the World Record on their way to winning the gold.




Strong Swims Across The Board


The New Zealand team kick started the morning with the popular Mixed 4 x 50m Medley Relay, with the team performing well in legs to place 11th overall in a NZ record time (1:39.53). Zac Dell led off in the backstroke leg (24.07 split), with Josh Gilbert holding his own in the breaststroke (26.11), Helena Gasson with a good butterfly leg (25.39) and Rebecca Moynihan bringing it home in the freestyle (23.96). The team had good changeovers and performed well, just marginally behind the Australian team.


Josh Gilbert produced a great swim in the 100m Breaststroke to place 21st with a big personal best (58.06). Josh had a great start and breakout, and took out the victory in his heat.


Carter Swift was up against David Popovici, the long course World Record holder, in the 100m Freestyle. A strong swim in his heat saw him finish 26th overall (47.36), just outside his NZ Record.



Other NZ-Based Swims


Lanihei Connolly (Cook Islands) placed 34th in the 100m Breaststroke (1:07.66).


Day Three Preview


Day 3 has Emma Godwin and Cam Gray taking on the 50m Backstroke, Esme Paterson having her first swim at a senior international FINA event in the 200m Butterfly, Helena Gasson racing the 100m Individual Medley before Louis Clark also makes his senior international debut in the 400m Freestyle. Both the women and men will race the 4 x 50m Freestyle Relay at the end of the heats session.

Day Three Schedule

  • Emma Godwin - 50m Backstroke - 11.13am AEDT (1.13pm NZDT)

  • Cam Gray - 50m Backstroke - 11.27am AEDT (1.27pm NZDT)

  • Esme Paterson - 200m Butterfly - 11.31am AEDT (1.31pm NZDT)

  • Helena Gasson - 100m Individual Medley - 12pm AEDT (2pm NZDT)

  • Louis Clark - 400m Freestyle - 12.36pm AEDT (2.36pm NZDT)

  • Women’s - 4x50m Freestyle Relay - 12.56pm AEDT (2.56pm NZDT)

  • Men’s - 4x50m - Freestyle Relay - 1.02pm AEDT (3.02pm NZDT)





Day Two Results Summary

  • Mixed - 4x50m Medley Relay - 1:39.53 - Zac Dell (24.07) Josh Gilbert (26.11) Helena Gasson (25.39) Rebecca Moynihan (23.96) - 11th - NZ Record

  • Carter Swift - 100m Freestyle - 47.36 - 26th

  • Josh Gilbert - 100m Breaststroke - 58.06 - 21st

  • Women’s - 4x200m Freestyle Relay - 7:50.73 - Erika Fairweather (1:54.24) Caitlin Deans (1:57.54) Summer Osborne (1:59.08) Ruby Heath (1:59.37 split) - 8th (Heat) NZ Record - Erika broke the NZ Record in the 200m Freestyle lead off (18 and Open)

  • Erika Fairweather - 800m Freestyle - 8:10.00 - Silver Medal







487 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page