top of page

Choppy Conditions Kick Start Zonal Open Water Champs

Event Wrap of the 2024 All Stars Zonal Secondary School Open Water Swimming Championships

The 2024 All Stars Zonal Secondary School Open Water Swimming Championships were held over the weekend in conjunction with the Swim the Lighthouse event hosted in the Banana Boat NZ Ocean Swim Series. The weather wasn't perfect for open water swimming, but that didn't detract from the action in the water as the first of the Zonal Secondary School events were hosted for the year.

A total of 34 students took part in the Secondary School side of racing across two distances. The long swim (3.3km) around the lighthouse had 24 students brave the conditions and 10 students take on the mid-distance (1km).

The first swimmer across the line and second overall in the series was Ollie Kennett (Horowhenua College - 44:23) to claim the 14-15 year boys long swim title ahead of Jayden Dickison (Scots College - 45:03) and Hunter Lloyd (Paraparaumu College - 45:09). For the 12-13 year boys, Charlie Dickison (Scots College - 47:05) claimed the gold medal ahead of Cody Chen (Whitby Collegiate) and Gokul Sadguna (Hutt International Boys). Michael Smith took home the gold in the 16-19 year boys event.


In the girls events, Marina Nadilo (Queen Margaret College - 48:58) was the first female and second overall in the series to finish the long swim, taking out the 14-15 years age group ahead of Eliana Brown (Awatapu College - 51:56) and Lauren Crawford (Aotea College). Courtney Fitzgibbon (Waiopehu College - 51:41) took home the 16-19 years title ahead of Alessandra Unsworth (52:14) and Serena Su (Horowhenua College - 55:18). Arliyah Windley (Horowhenua College) took home the 12-13 years with Holly Sorenson and Isabella Bethell rounding out the podium.

The mid-distance swim (1km) saw Jack Kennett (Horowhenua College - 17:52) be the first swimmer across the line in the whole series, taking out the 12-13 year boys title in the process. Asher Thomas (Aotea College - 23:51) and Toby Brown (Awatapu College - 24:37).

For the girls, Izzy Brown (Awatapu College - 23:31) took home the fastest woman in the series and the 14-15 years girls title, with Eloise Branagh (Horowhenua College - 29:48) taking home the silver. Hannah Alderton (Horowhenua College - 23:31) crossed the line as the second female overall to claim the 16-19 years gold medal, with Amanda Gouldsbury (Aotea College - 23:46) and Ella Dougall (Paraparaumu College - 25:34) rounding out the podium. Oxie Taylor (24:03) claimed the 12-13 years title ahead of Taylor Hing (Horowhenua College - 25:40).

Horowhenua College took out the Top School Points having 7 students participate with some great swims.

Thanks to the Banana Boat NZ Ocean Swim Series team for delivering this event and to all the swimmers who got active in the water over the weekend.

380 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page