top of page

Another Final for Smith on Day Three of Para Swimming World Championships

Day 3 Wrap of the 2023 Para Swimming World Championships

Christchurch swimmers Lili-fox Mason and Gaby Smith were the two Kiwi athletes in the pool on day three of the Para Swimming World Championships in Manchester.

Contesting the 400m Freestyle (S10) the pair were drawn in different heats with Smith first in action, looking to build on the solid start she made on day one of competition where she set two PBs in the 100m Breaststroke (SB9).

The Vikings Club member started strong against a fast field, finishing fourth in her heat in 4:58.24s. Smith qualified ninth in the heats, but with a swimmer a late withdrawal in the final she got a reprieve.

Lili-Fox Mason was then off the pace in heat number two, swimming 5:19.61s to place 14th overall and miss out on the final.

Smith was unable to top her heat time in the final, clocking 5:01.00s to finish eighth. The result concludes a solid meet for the 17-year-old who will take major positives from her results as she works towards representing New Zealand at the Paris 2024 Paralympic Games.

Cameron Leslie is the sole Kiwi in action on day four of the Championships, contesting the 50m Backstroke (S4).

Coverage of the 2023 Para Swimming World Championships is available on TVNZ+.

Make sure you follow Swimming NZ on Instagram and Facebook for all the behind-the-scenes info.

Aquablacks Schedule

Day Four Schedule

Men's 50m Backstroke (S4)
  • Cameron Leslie

Day Five Schedule

Men's 50m Freestyle (S4)
  • Cameron Leslie

Women's 50m Freestyle (S8)
  • Tupou Neiufi

Women's 100m Butterfly (S10)
  • Lili-Fox Mason

Day Six Schedule

Men's 100m Backstroke (S9)
  • Jesse Reynolds

Day Seven Schedule

Men's 200m Freestyle (S4)
  • Cameron Leslie

Men's 100m Breaststroke (SB8)
  • Josh Willmer

Aquablacks Team

Tupou Neiufi (#261) Pukekohe Swim Club

  • 100m Backstroke (S8)

  • 50m, 100m Freestyle (S9)

Jesse Reynolds (#262) Hamilton Aquatics

  • 100m Backstroke (S9)

Cameron Leslie (#272) Whangarei

  • 50m, 100m, 200m Freestyle (S4)

  • 50m Backstroke (S4)

Lili-Fox Mason (#273) Wharenui

  • 100m Butterfly (S10)

  • 400m Freestyle (S10)

Gabriella Smith (#274) Vikings

  • 400m Freestyle (SB9)

  • 100m Breaststroke (SB9)

  • 200m Individual Medley (SB9)

Joshua Willmer (#275) Pukekohe

  • 100m Breaststroke (SB8)

bottom of page