

Minutes of the 132nd Swimming New Zealand Annual General Meeting Held on Sunday 18 September 2022 from 3pm to 3.49pm At the Vodafone Events Centre, Manukau, Auckland (and via Zoom)

List of Attendees and apologies: Please refer to the appendix at the end of the minutes.

1. Welcome and outline of the agenda

The Swimming New Zealand President, Jaynie Hudgell (the President) opened the 132nd Annual General Meeting and welcomed everyone. The President outlined the agenda and reflected that she has enjoyed her first year in the role. The President acknowledged her fellow board members and the Future Leaders Programme participants.

2. Board Introduction

The President introduced the Swimming NZ Board members present at the meeting and thanked them for their stewardship of the organisation over the past year.

3. Confirmation of Voting Delegates

The CEO held a roll call of regional voting delegates and confirmed there was a quorum of voting members present.

4. Meeting Procedural Rules

The President outlined the procedural rules for the meeting and asked if there were any questions for clarification. There were none.

5. Apologies

The President asked if there were any apologies. The apologies for absence were received and accepted (recorded at the end of the minutes).

6. In Memoriam:

The President asked if there were any former members who had passed away over the previous year which should be recorded in the Minutes. A delegate asked that the passing of David Wright be recorded. The President duly acknowledged this and asked that the meeting observe a moment's silence.

7. Confirmation of Adoption of the Minutes of the 2021 AGM.

The President asked that the minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting of Swimming New Zealand held on 26 September 2021 online via Zoom be approved and adopted.

It was resolved that the minutes of the 2021 Swimming NZ AGM be approved and adopted as a true and accurate record of that meeting, subject to incorporation of the following correction:

• Bronwen Radford is recorded as a voting delegate and also a guest – to be corrected (remove from the list of guests).

Moved: Auckland; Seconded: Manawatu – Carried Unanimously

There were no amendments or matters arising from the minutes.

8. Confirmation of the Elected and Appointed Board Members for the 2022/2023 Year

The Board Chair confirmed the following appointments had been made:

- Wayne Rollinson has been re-elected for a further three year term.
- Pip Jamieson has been appointed for a one year term.

- Candra Pullon has been appointed for a three year term.
- Mark Pirikahu has been appointed for a three year term.

9. Adoption of 2022 Annual Report and Financial Statements

The President introduced the 2022 Annual Report.

- The President spoke to her report and asked if there were any questions, there were none. The President reflected that she enjoyed her first year on the Board.
- The Board Chair spoke to the Board and CEO report and asked if there were any questions. The Chair thanked the Board and regions for their commitment to the sport.

A member queried if the increase in high performance sport funding was sustainable? It was confirmed that the funding is committed at that level until March 2025/the Paris Olympic Games.

- The CEO spoke to the Board and CEO report and asked if there were any questions, there were none. The CEO thanked the Swimming NZ team for their excellent work and also thanked the Board and everyone working in the regions to achieve the same successful outcomes.
- The Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee spoke to the Financial Statements and asked if there were any questions, there were none. The Audit and Risk Committee members were thanked for doing a fantastic job. The impact of COVID on the finances (cancelled events) was noted. A break even high performance budget was in place. The aim was to achieve a surplus (equivalent to the deficit in 2021/22) at the end of the 2022/23 financial year).

The AGM queried if there was director insurance in place for the regional bodies? It was confirmed that there was Director Insurance cover in place for the Board members.

It was resolved that the 2022 Annual Report and Financial Statements be adopted. Moved: Wellington; Seconded: Manawatu – Carried Unanimously

10. Confirmation of the Auditor for the 2022/2023 Year

The President advised the meeting that the Board moves that BDO be retained as the organisation's auditors for the 2022/2023 year. The Board noted audit costs had increased nationally due to the lack of auditors/competition and confirmed there were process in place to streamline audit processes in the future.

It was resolved that BDO NZ be appointed auditor for the 2022/23 financial year. Moved: Board; Seconded: Hawke's Bay – Carried Unanimously

11. GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no motions for consideration at the meeting and there had been no topics of general business submitted for discussion.

12. Election of President

The President vacated the Chair to allow Swimming NZ Board Chair, Nick Tongue, to conduct the election of the President.

Nick spoke to the Board's unanimous recommendation that Jaynie Hudgell (nee Parkhouse) be elected the 43rd President of Swimming NZ for a further one-year term. Jaynie accepted the position.

It was resolved that Jaynie Hudgell be re-elected President of Swimming NZ for a further one-year term.

Moved: Board; Seconded: Nelson Marlborough - Carried Unanimously

Acknowledgement of Retiring Board Members/Future Leaders:

The Board Chair thanked retiring Board members Andrew Kelleher, Margie McKee, David Gerard, Lauren Boyle and Dean Kent for their service, knowledge and expertise which had been invaluable to the Board.

The Board Chair gave a special presentation to Margie McKee who had completed nine years of service on the Board. The Board and AGM thanked Margie for her work. Margie reflected that it had been a privilege to serve on the board and she noted Swimming NZ is in good heart. Margie appreciated the opportunity to be part of Swimming NZ.

13. CLOSE

There being no further formal business of the meeting, the President once again thanked everyone for their attendance and participation and formally closed the meeting at 3.49pm.

Signed	(0	Chair)	Date:
	Jaynie Hudgell (President)		

Regions Voting Delegates

Northland – Jess Morgan-French

Auckland – Shirley Mackay

Waikato - Gavin Ion

Bay of Plenty - Darren Walsh

Hawkes Bay/Poverty Bay – Jacqueline Margerison

Taranaki – Tracey Knofflock Manawatu – Jane Palmer

Wellington – Mike Key

Nelson – Lees Seymouth Canterbury - Richard James

Otago – Nigel Ellett

Southland – Roger Eagles

Attendees via Zoom

Mary MacFarlane (Life Member)

Gavin Ion

Jenny Jago

Jess Morgan-French

Lesley Huckins (Life Member)

Ron Clarke

Keith Bone

Beth Finer

Apologies for absence:

David Gerard (Board)

Anna Tootill (Board)

Lauren Boyle (Board)

Dean Kent (Board)

Alan Hale (Otago)

David Hall (Nelson Marlborough)

John West (Life Member)

Simon Morph (Westland)

Staff:

Steve Johns (CEO)

Davin Bray

Peter Carroll

Elaine Edwards (minute taker)