

DRAFT Minutes of the Swimming New Zealand 128th Annual General Meeting

(to be confirmed and adopted at the 2019 agm)

Held at Holiday Inn, 2 Ascot Avenue, Auckland Airport Sunday 30th September 2018 at 2pm

PRESENT

Board

Lesley Huckins – President	Bruce Cotterill (Board Chairman)			
Geoff Brown	Nick Tongue			
Margaret McKee				

Regional delegates

Canterbury	Wayne Rollinson
------------	-----------------

Guests

Jess Rule	Willem Coetzee		
Eugen Collins	Dave Beattie		
Stephen Fryer	Keith Melvin		
Mark Berge	Brian Tong		
Hamish Neill	Anne McLeod		
Jim Sinner	Teresa Stanley		
Chris Dyhrberg	Jackie Stanley		
Debbie Rahurahu	Waric Cross		
Matthew Heath	Cynthia Zehnder		
Michael Weston	Rowan Williams		
Dianne Farmer	Sean Lewis		
Carlrine Gillespie	Geoff Siburn		
Bronwen Radford	Jeannie Siburn		

SNZ Staff

Steve Johns (CEO)	Amanda White		
Andy Kent	Peter Carroll		
Johnson Raela			



1. INTRODUCTIONS

Bruce Cotterill (Board Chairman) opened the 128th Annual General meeting and started with a welcome to all (regional delegates, guests, the SNZ Board and SNZ Staff).

The President asked that Bruce Cotterill Chair the AGM.

Moved by Lesley Huckins (President), seconded by Carlrine Gillespie (Northland)

CARRIED

It was acknowledged that notice of the meeting had not been given to all persons entitled to receive notice.

The Chair, citing Rule 15.9 of the constitution, determined that it was still appropriate for the AGM to proceed.

Moved by Bruce Cotterill (Board Chair), seconded by Jeannie Siburn (Counties Manakau)

CARRIED

The Chair confirmed that 50% of members eligible to vote were present as detailed in Rule 15.5 of the Constitution and confirmed that there was a quorum for the AGM.

The Chair noted SwimZone Racing was not supportive of this interpretation.

Procedural rules were then stated and the Agenda for the meeting was explained.

APOLOGIES

Apologies for being absent were received from Dave Gerrard (Life Member), Clive Power (Life Member), John West (Life Member), John Mace (Life Member), Ross Bragg (Life Member), Enid Wordsworth (Life Member) Mark Saunders (Life Member), Anna Tootill (Board), Simon Perry (Board), Jo McFadden

Moved by **Dianne Farmer (Manawatu)**, seconded by **Willem Coetzee**(Auckland) that the apologies be accepted.

CARRIED

MEMORIAM

The meeting noted the following members who passed away since last year's AGM:

Don Stanley (Life Member)

Norma Williams (Life Member)

Jim Cole (Life Member)

Jan Cameron



BOARD INTRODUCTION

Bruce Cotterill (Chairman) introduced the Swimming New Zealand Board Members present.

2. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

2017 AGM Minutes - 2 September 2017

Bruce Cotterill (Chairman) asked that the minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting of Swimming New Zealand held Sunday 2 September 2017 be taken as read.

There were three minor amendments to the guests in attendance that needed to be updated. Noting these it was:

Moved by Lesley Huckins (Canterbury), seconded by **Dianne Farmer** (**Manawatu**) that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Swimming New Zealand held 2 September 2016 are a true and correct record.

CARRIED

There were no matters arising from the minutes

3. REPORTS

The 2018 Annual Report was presented to the meeting by Brue Cotterill.

Steve Johns (CEO) delivered the Chair/CEO Report in particular:

- Recognised the efforts of the Participation Team
- Highlighted the continuing pressure on pool capacity
- Reducing gaming funding
- Praised the tireless efforts of the Technical Officials
- Thanked Lesley Huckins and Simon Perry for their service to Swimming New Zealand
- Thanked the rest of the Board for the diligence and support

4. FINANCIALS

Bruce Cotterill (Chairman) received the 2017/18 Financial Statements.

Geoff Brown (Audit & Risk Committee member) spoke about the Accounts – giving a brief overview of the financials.

Geoff Brown (Board) moved to receive and adopt the 2016/17 Financial Statements, seconded by **Dianne Farmer (Manawatu).**

CARRIED

Geoff Brown (Board) moved to accept the appointment of Deloitte, Chartered Accountants as SNZ's auditors for the 2018/19 financial year, seconded by **Carlrine Gillespie (Northland)**.

CARRIED



5. GENERAL BUSINESS

One Item had been notified to the meeting – changes to the Constitution. It had been identified that there was a mis-match of wording between the National and Regional Constitutions.

Special Resolution One

That rule 8.3d of the SNZ Constitution be <u>amended</u> to read: "Has at least two persons appointed by its governing board / committee, or elected by its Member Clubs, to its governing board / committee because of their governance capability"

Moved by **Dianne Farmer (Manawatu)**, seconded by **Willem Coetzee** (Auckland).

The Chair noted that SwimZone Racing was not supportive of the Resolution.

Nelson South Swim Club proposed new wording for 8.3d:

"Has on its governing board at least two persons with governance capability, either appointed by an appointment panel as specified in the regional association's constitution or elected by its Member Clubs."

Moved by **Dianne Farmer (Manawatu)**, seconded by **Willem Coetzee** (Auckland).

CARRIED

Special Resolution Two

Insert rule 8.3A: "Any Regional Association approved as a Member by SNZ under rule 8.3h between 31 July 2012 and the 2018 AGM shall be deemed a Member of SNZ between those dates irrespective of whather it complied with rule 8.3d."

Moved by Carlrine Gillespie (Northland), seconded by Hamish Neill (Nelson South Swim Club).

The Chair noted that SwimZone Racing was not supportive of the Resolution.

CARRIED



6. **PRESENTATIONS**

Lesley Huckins (President) presented the following SNZ Service Awards which were approved by acclamation:

Service Awards

Janice Rennell	Canterbury West Coast			
Todd Mason	Canterbury West Coast			
Willem Coetzee	Auckland			
Brian Tong	Auckland			
Monique Williams	Auckland			

Honours Awards

Anthony Farmer	Manawatu
Darryl Follows	Auckland
Stephen Fryer	Nelson-Marlborough

7. **ELECTION OF PRESIDENT**

The nomination of Dave Gerrard was explained by Bruce Cotterill (Chairman).

Bruce Cotterill (Chair) on behalf of the Board moved that Dave Gerrard be the Swimming New Zealand President for the coming year, seconded by Carlrine Gillespie (Northland).

CARRIED

Bruce Cotterill congratulated Dave Gerard on his appointment. Dave Gerard relayed his acceptance of the position via video message, screened to the meeting.

SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS

Simon Perry, departing board member and Lesley Huckins, departing President, were presented with Certificates of Appreciation for their outstanding contribution to Swimming New Zealand.

9. CLOSE OF MEETING

Bruce Cotterill's (Chairman) valediction acknowledged the changing landscape of sports administration and thanked the mostly volunteers, who gave freely, to ensure swimming in New Zealand continued to develop and thrive.

at

	The 128 th 2.55pm.	Swimming	New Zeal	and Annual	General	Meeting	was declared	d closed a
Signe	d as a tru	e and corre	ct record:					
-								
Bruce	Cotterill							
Chairr	man							