

Minutes of the Swimming New Zealand 127th Annual General Meeting

Held at Butterfly Creek Tom Pearce Drive, Auckland Airport Saturday 2nd September 2017 at 3.30pm

PRESENT

Board

| Lesley Huckins – President | Bruce Cotterill (Board Chairman) |
|----------------------------|----------------------------------|
| Geoff Brown | Simon Perry |
| Anna Tootill | Margaret McKee |

Life Members

| Don Stanley | John Mace |
|-------------|-----------|
| Ross Bragg | |

Regional delegates

| Northland | Carlrine Gillespie |
|--------------------------|--------------------|
| Auckland | Willem Coetzee |
| Counties Manukau | Jeannie Sibun |
| Waikato | Matt Watson |
| Bay of Plenty | Keith Bone |
| Taranaki | Maree Collins |
| Hawkes Bay / Poverty Bay | Keith Bone |
| Manawatu | Dianne Farmer |
| Wellington | Mark Berge |
| Nelson Marlborough | Stephen Fryer |
| Canterbury | Wayne Rollinson |
| Otago | Matthew Heaton |
| Southland | Hilary Strang |

Guests

| Bronwen Radford | Jos Pattison |
|---------------------------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Maree Collins | Brett Green |
| Hilary Strang | Geoff Sibun |
| Karen Nixon | Alison Fitch |
| Alison Gadsby | Jim Sinner |
| Debbie Rahurahu | Joy McFadyen |
| Claudia Hill | Cherie McCleery |
| Steven Kent | John Gatfield |
| Michael Weston | David Jack (NZ Swimming Trust) |
| Teresa Stanley (NZ Swimming Trust) | |

SNZ Staff

| Steve Johns (CEO) | Amanda White |
|-------------------|---------------|
| Andy Kent | Peter Carroll |
| Amy Dalzell | Johnson Raela |
| Matt Woofe | |

1. INTRODUCTIONS

Lesley Huckins (President) opened the 127th Annual General meeting and started with a welcome to all (regional delegates, Life Members, guests, the SNZ Board and SNZ Staff).

It was confirmed we have a quorum for the AGM.

Procedural rules were then stated and the Agenda for the meeting was explained.

APOLOGIES

Apologies for being absent were received from Dave Gerrard (Life Member), Merle Jonson (Life Member), Enid Wordsworth (Life Member), Nick Tongue, Horst Miehe, Merv Grewar

Moved by **Dianne Farmer (Manawatu)**, seconded by **Jeannie Sibun (Counties Manukau)**.

All in favour, Carried

INTRODUCTIONS

Lesley Huckins (President) asked Bruce Cotterill (Chairman) to introduce the Swimming New Zealand Board Members.

2. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

2016 AGM Minutes on 25 September 2016

Lesley Huckins (President) asked that the minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting of Swimming New Zealand held Sunday 25 September 2016 be taken as read.

Moved by **Dianne Farmer (Manawatu),** seconded by **Jeannie Sibun (Counties Manukau)** that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Swimming New Zealand held 25 September 2016 are a true and correct record.

All in favour, Carried

There were no matters arising from the minutes

3. **REPORTS**

Lesley Huckins (President) received the report from the Chair and CEO of Swimming New Zealand.

Lesley Huckins moved that the Chair and CEO Report be adopted as a true and correct record.

Moved by **Stephen Fryer (Nelson Marlborough)** and seconded by **Willem Coetzee (Auckland)**, that the 2017 Annual Report of Swimming New Zealand is a true and correct record and therefore will be accepted and received.

All in favour, Carried

4. FINANCIALS

Lesley Huckins (President) received the 2016/17 Financial Statements.

Anna Tootill (Chair Audit & Risk) spoke about the Accounts – giving a brief overview of the financials.

Matthew Heaton (Otago) moved to receive and adopt the 2016/17 Financial Statements, seconded by **Matt Watson (Waikato).**

All in favour, Carried

Anna Tootill (Board) moved to accept the appointment of Deloitte, Chartered Accountants as SNZ's auditors for the 2017/18 financial year, seconded by **Jeannie Sibun (Counties Manukau)**.

All in favour, Carried

5. **PRESENTATIONS**

Lesley Huckins (President) then announced and presented the following SNZ awards which were approved by acclamation:

Service Awards

| Martin Harris | Canterbury West Coast |
|------------------|-----------------------|
| Geoff Bryce | Canterbury West Coast |
| Robert Johnston | Canterbury West Coast |
| Martin Russell | Canterbury West Coast |
| Margaret Western | Canterbury West Coast |
| Helen Tait | Canterbury West Coast |
| Toni Bayliffe | Auckland |
| Julie Fonua | Auckland |
| David Girbin | Northland |
| Hugh Allan | Wellington |

Honours Awards

| David Jack | Auckland |
|------------------|-----------------------|
| Gwen Ryan | Auckland |
| Joshua Paterson | Nelson Marlborough |
| Suzanne McFadden | Canterbury West Coast |

Lesley Huckins noted in accordance with the Terms of Reference one member of the SNZ Awards Committee retires this year. Nominations have been called for the vacant position from members of Swimming New Zealand who have the appropriate experience.

Lesley announced John West has been appointed Chair and Carlrine Gillespie (Northland) has been appointed by the Board to the SNZ Awards Committee.

6. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

The nomination of Lesley Huckins was explained by Bruce Coterill (Chair).

Bruce Cotterill (Chair) moved to accept Lesley Huckins as the Swimming New Zealand President, seconded by **Diane Farmer (Manawatu)**.

All in favour, Carried

Bruce Cotterill congratulated Lesley on her appointment and invited her to the Board table where Lesley verbally accepted her position as President.

7. GENERAL BUSINESS

No items were raised.

8. CLOSE OF MEETING

Lesley Huckins then declared the 127th Swimming New Zealand Annual General Meeting closed at 3.45pm.